Sedgefield Community College is one of three secondary schools in the country to receive the Silver Award for Making a Difference – Secondary School of the Year. The school was recognised for their outstanding commitment to transforming the lives of the children they work with every day. 

The Silver Award winners were honoured as part of the wider celebrations for ‘Thank a Teacher Day’, on 23rd June – a national campaign to honour and recognise school staff for their incredible work. On the day, the award was presented to the outgoing and incoming Student Leadership Teams by Rugby League Champion Jamie Peacock MBE. Jamie Peacock has been visiting schools across Laidlaw Schools Trust as part of his Be a Champion Wellbeing programme. All staff and students from Year 5 and above across the Trust are completing the 30 day challenge to support their wellbeing. 

On the day Jamie Peacock also presented a Special Commendation for Digital Innovator of the Year to Deputy Head Teacher Craig Hutton for his work on the digital strategy which has supported the school through Covid and remote learning. 

As a Silver Award winner, Sedgefield Community College has now been shortlisted to win a Gold Award later in the year, in a programme which will be broadcast on the BBC. This is a great opportunity to celebrate the exceptional school staff who have worked wonders during an incredibly challenging time for educators across the country. 

Geoff Robinson, Headteacher of Sedgefield Community College, said:

“We are so proud to receive this award in recognition of our journey to make Sedgefield Community College a thriving, happy and positive learning community. We are completely committed to inspiring and supporting all of our students so that they seek excellence in all aspects of school life, removing any barriers that stand in their way. It is our core priority that our students have a rich and successful experience and we are determined to continue equipping them with the skills, knowledge and confidence for the future.”

The Pearson National Teaching Awards is an annual celebration of excellence in education, founded in 1998 by Lord Puttnam to recognise the life-changing impact an inspirational teacher can have on the lives of the young people they work with. This year marks its 22nd year of celebrating, award-winning teachers, teaching assistants, headteachers and lecturers across the UK.